Day 8 of 12
    Congrats John John
    2-4 ft
  • WEATHER: Sunny
    WIND: Light
  • SCHEDULE: John John Florences Wins at Barra!
    UPDATED: May 16th, 11am


Nixon's WTA series kick-off during The Billabong Pro in Rio de Janeiro.

ENCINITAS, CA -Nixon’s 2012 WTA (Winner-Takes-All) series will kick-off during The Billabong Pro in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil May 9-20. This first stop in Nixon’s four-part series will be awarded for the “biggest air” during the Rio event. From trials to finals, all surfers are eligible to win the title and prize for The Nixon WTA Rio.

With Rio’s punchy beach breaks plus the new, young blood on the 2012 tour, including big air specialists like John John, Kolohe and Miguel Pupo, The Nixon WTA Rio will be an exciting event to watch. It’s anyone’s game who will walk away the winner and dethrone Josh Kerr, last years WTA Rio champ.

Now in its sixth year, The Nixon WTA is a winner-takes-all event along three stops of the ASP (Association of Surfing Professionals) World Tour and one ASP Men’s 6-Star event during the 2012 season. Challenges in The 2012 Nixon WTA will range from Biggest Air, Highest Heat Score, Heaviest Wave and the overall Triple Crown Winner. The Nixon WTA looks to celebrate outstanding moments along these ASP stops that often get overlooked and overshadowed by whoever won the heat or event. Holding these “contests within a contest” adds another level of fun competitiveness along these high stress ASP stops.

The Nixon WTA Rio winner will take home with him a custom Nixon 51-30 tide valued at over $10,000 USD. The winning timepiece will feature a sunray dial in yellow to represent the Brazilian flag, a high polish all black subdial/hands, the Brazilian flag at the 6 o’clock position and a diamond encrusted bezel.

Stops and challenges in The 2012 Nixon WTA will include:
Rio de Janeiro, Brazil for Biggest Air May 9-20, 2012
Jeffreys Bay, South Africa for Highest Heat Score July 10-15, 2012
Teahupoo, Tahiti for Heaviest Wave August 16-27, 2012
Oahu, Hawaii for the Triple Crown Winner December 8-20, 2012

2011 Winners

Billabong Rio Pro - Biggest Air - Josh Kerr (AUS)

Billabong Pro J-Bay - Highest Heat Score - Jordy Smith (ZAF) - 18.30pts

Billabong Pro Tahiti - Heaviest Wave - Jeremy Flores (FRA)

Vans Triple Crown of Surfing Champion - John Florence (HAW)

John Florence brings the Vans Triple Crown of Surfing title back to Hawaii Photo: Dias